Skip to content

Moving -Leg #1-

[reflect]

While driving the 900 miles to our new home with all of our earthly possessions strapped in he back of a uhaul truck, I had some time to ponder.

First, I realized that all my things packed away would be just fine. As we scrambled to make this move happen in less than 20 days, I tried to keep calm and trust that God is in charge and everything would be just fine. He has never failed me and never will. For those of you that have moved, you understand what emotions go through your head as you pack keepsakes, pictures and memories. Melissa and I have worked really hard to have what minimal possessions we do, so we worked even harder the last few days to protect and bubble wrap our lives. Yet, I have to think…who cares if the bicycle handle rubs against the refrigerator. Does it matter if the rustic furniture gets to Montesano a little more rustic? The scratches add character and memories. Every time I walk past my refrigerator I’m going to remember the 15 hours I got to spend with Chase and Cooper as we talk about our new adventure. The furniture that was dinged in the move will not be judged as I stand before my Savior. My spirit and attitudes toward the people that God has placed in my life can’t be wrapped and put into a moving van. What is really important is the 18 inches between my head and heart. The only physical beings I care about are riding up front with me.

My second thought is very simple! Thank God for all the people in my life that showed us mercy, grace, and love the last few weeks. I wanted to tag all of you that made your way over to help cook, clean, pack, bring coffee, bring ice cream and offer support. This wouldn’t have been possible without all of you! The list of individuals that made this whole move possible is to extensive to list, so please take this as a heart felt thank you! I know that Jesus is using Melissa and I to be examples of God’s love along side the staff /students and friends we will encounter in the upper left USA. Just know, friends, you all played a role in his plan.

Lastly, goodbyes suck! Thursday night cooper and Melissa spent hours in tears of mixed emotions. We were all excited to see what our future holds, but the reality of leaving our coworkers, friends, and family was more than our composure could hold. Maybe it was “allergies” as I tried to pretend I wasn’t crying my man card May or may not still be in place, but when you watch your 10 yr old son cry over friendships that are put on hold, it’s going to get you every time. There are so many friends that I didn’t get to say goodbye to that again I can’t list, in fear that I would forget someone, so goodbye all, please know you hold a special place in my heart.

As we end this chapter in our lives please join us in sharing/ following our lives with our new acquaintances. We are deeply saddened by the loss of time with old friends, but we are super excited about the new chapter you will be witness to with us. You are our supporting cast. Whether you are family/fiends from Utah, or Washington, you’ve had a part in our journey. My wish is that all of you will continue to-love God, love people, and serve the world.

God bless
The Cleveringa Crew
Curtis, Melissa, Blake, Chase and Cooper.

Published inQuality Principal Standards

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe By Email

Get every new post delivered right to your inbox.

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Skip to toolbar